Oadby Artists - Exhibition 2018



Oadby Artists have been holding exhibitions of members work since 1968. Highlights of our 2017 exhibition are shown here. Exhibitions from recent years have featured on our website since 2013 and can be viewed by selecting one of the links below.








Each year our celebrity guest will choose the painting which he/she determines is the best in show. The prize has formerly been a cheque, but in May 2018, this was changed to a silver trophy donated by our president Christine Stevens - the winner gets to keep this prestigious trophy for one year. It is known as the Christine Stevens Salver.

There is also a silver plate, which is awarded to the winner of the member's vote. It is know as the Jean Wells Trophy, and has been awarded since 2007. Both trophies are award at the Opening Ceremony.

The overall winner of the visitors vote is announced at the end of the exhibition, the recipient receiving a diploma at the following Members Meeting.

Winner of the Christine Stevens Salver is:

  • 2018 Jason Garner

Previous winners of the Jean Wells Trophy
are as follows:

  • 2007 Jayne Kitto
  • 2008 Geoff Herickx
  • 2009 Phil Long
  • 2010 Hilary Willars
  • 2011 Phil Long
  • 2012 Geoff Herickx
  • 2013 Françoise Menestrey
  • 2014 Dinah Cheney
  • 2015 Nick Fear
  • 2016 Geoff Herickx
  • 2017 Frank Bingley
  • 2018 Geoff Herickx

Oadby Artists 2018 Exhibition

Jason Garner wins the Opener's Prize for his charcoal painting "Kiss Me Quick".
Chairman Frank Bingley reported that this year had been particularly challenging as the society had been obliged to find a new venue after Oadby and Wigston Borough council had leased Brock's Hill Visitor centre to Parklands. With the help of Dean Carmichael, general Manager at Parklands we were able to stage our exhibition on the first floor.
In his address in opening our exhibition, Dean noted that Everyone Active, the company that runs Parklands on behalf of the Council, was committed to maintaining good community links, and that supporting the exhibition was very much part of that remit.

Dean then went on to officially open our exhibition. He said that he was honoured to have been asked to choose the artwork for the Opener’s prize. He short listed three pieces from the exhibition as his personal favourites. These were: Leicester Waits by Frank Bingley (oil); Alpine Marathon by Roger Jones (Acrylic); Kiss Me Quick by Jason Garner (Charcoal). He commended all three and then chose Jason Garner’s Kiss Me Quick for the Opener’s Award, which was the lovely Christine Stevens Salver which was donated to the club this year by President Christine Stevens. Unfortunately, Jason was not able to be present, but he was given a round of applause in absentia.

The Jean Wells Trophy (awarded by members and guests for best painting) award was won by Geoff Herickx for his painting, Kingfishers (oil). Geoff briefly recounted how he had developed the painting by combining two images.

The visitor's choice award is to be announced soon.

Geoff Herickx wins The Jean Wells Trophy with his painting "Kingfishers".

More information

 Search Oadby Artists


The fast way to contact the Oadby Artists is to visit our Twitter page.

Tweet OA on twitter

Copyright Oadby Artists © 2016. All rights reserved. Website designed and maintained by Frank Bingley. This page updated  25/5/2018